1. Instant Gifts Sent to His Inbox: Last-Minute Gifting Solution for Dad - Shop Now

All reviews for Knife Making Kit

Back to Knife Making Kit
Sort by:
    5.0
    Joe
    Jul 26th 2018
    Loved it

    My girl got this kit for me just because and it was awesome. Knife making kit not so much but still hours of labor assembling and shaping to what I wanted. Loved it. Am already thinking of 2nd blade kit or moving to the folding knife kit. Man Crates I will tell all about this kit. Thanks SS for the thinking of my gift!!

    5.0
    Summer
    Jun 17th 2018
    Victory

    By nature, I am the world's worst gift giver and my husband is the best. This knife kit was a Hail Mary pass before I declared our home a gift free zone. It was more than a win. It was a sweet sweet victory. Thank you man crates. For knowing my husband better than I do, lol!

    5.0
    Kayla
    Jun 7th 2018
    Loved it!

    Husband loved this! The knife is nice and sharp and great quality. The finished product was super nice and it made for a great weekend project. Definitely looking forward to getting some of the other knife kits.

    5.0
    Semo Lalic
    May 6th 2018
    Awesome

    My wife bought this for me as a birthday gift. As soon as I saw what it was I knew it’d be fun. Couldn’t wait to make it my own. It took me about 6 hours and i enjoyed every minute.

    5.0
    Adrian M.
    Mar 31st 2018
    Knife Handle Kit

    My wife bought me this kit for X-mas 2017. I'm a hobby guy and I watch a lot of Forged In Fire. She knew I'd love this kit. I don't own a forge, nor will I ever, blacksmithing is just not in my future. That being said I've always enjoyed wood working and being able to shape my own handle and customize the fit has been a great experience. No this is not a "Knife Making Kit." This was an enjoyable project and lasted me about a week. I've only got two steps left: 1. Stain the Sheath, 2. Shape the Sheath.

    5.0
    Ray Wolfe
    Mar 20th 2018
    Better than thought

    My wife got this for me for my birthday and at first I wasn't entirely sure what exactly was involved but after taking it out of the box and looking through it and reading the instructions it turned into quite a little evening project for several weeks which I was delighted with. The instructions are just vague enough to be interesting and require a little bit of thought but not difficult that you can't figure it out . I found using a bench sander for more easier than using the rasps and files that came with the kit but the same paper was excellent and provided a nice finished . I am looking forward to more kits from the man crates and might even do another knife

    5.0
    Eric
    Mar 19th 2018
    More than just a knife.

    I got this as a Valentine's day gift, and was unsure about it at first, especially after looking at how much I cost when checking out the site. Sure, it's really pricy. You can buy the finished product for a third of what this costs. But this is not just a knife you are buying.

    I cracked into this on a Saturday morning in the garage as my family went out for their day of things to do. I usually go with them but this time was part of the gift. I figured I'd just knock it out and be done. 8 hours later they returned home and I felt like I had just started working. I lost myself in the process and had lost all track of time. I had a rough shape taking place and by this point had begun unboxing long forgotten tools (most notably the good ole dremmel)

    That night I just sat there with a roughly shaped knife handle and a taped up blade, holding it and trying to decide how I wanted it to ultimately feel in my hand. Looking at it and deciding how I wanted it to look when done. Searching online for examples of other knives, techniques for shaping and finishing. I spent an hour or 2 in some fashion almost every day for a month working or thinking about it. It almost became theraputic.

    When it was all said and done, I probably put 40 hours into this knife and have something to show for my efforts. It is not perfect, not even close. The brass is pitted and scratched, there are flaws in the finish of the scales and one of them has a gap between it and the brass. Every flaw is a lesson learned, something I had to deal with in some way. They are part of what makes my knife uniquely mine.

    I am proud of what I made with my own 2 hands. When it was complete the cost equals about $3 per hour of joy and entertainment. Oh, and I have a kick ass knife that I will use for life at no additional cost.

    I give it 5 stars, even though they give no left handed sheath option. Perhaps Man Crates will come out with a leather sheath making kit in the future...

    5.0
    Dennis Nicholls
    Feb 21st 2018
    Fantastic Knife

    My wife purchased the knife making kit for me for Valentine's Day.... nothing says love like a good sturdy knife after all! 😀 I found it quite relaxing putting this together and had no issues at all. The finished product is a thing of beauty. Very satisfied with it.

    5.0
    Rhonda
    Jan 28th 2018
    Better than expected

    I bought this as a Christmas gift for my fiancee who has everything. He absolutely loves it. I'll be buying other crates in the future

    5.0
    Greatest Auntie Ever
    Jan 5th 2018
    I won the best gift prize!

    Bought this knife making kit for my project-minded 18 year old nephew. Score! Great gift! Like others have said though - the crate concept is what Man Crates is all about - wish this would have come in a cool crate.

    5.0
    Krystle
    Dec 26th 2017
    Husband LOVES IT!

    My husband loved this gift! He is super excited to get started and is even happier to add quality tools to his set. Loved the packaging too! I understand they can’t put it in the crate for passing through security purposes.

    5.0
    Cori
    Dec 18th 2017
    Great kit

    Kit is awesome..should come in a crate and not a cardboard box.

    5.0
    Donna Sims
    Dec 11th 2017
    The Crate

    I'm wanting to order this for my husband but I want it to come in wooden crate please.. That's the whole purpose

    5.0
    Bryant Sims
    Oct 20th 2017
    Amazing gift

    My wife bought me this for Christmas and she thought I would like it a much she gave to me in October.

    I spent 2 weeks with an Hr or so a day babying this knife and grinding like a stripper when the rent is due.

    I got the handle to feel like a worn bar of soap and the only sharp edges on it are now the blade.

    Thaw was amazing. Yea the hand tools were kind of tedious but I believe if you can't do it with the hand tool you don't understand the process and should not move onto the power tools. I will be making more and more knives now using thaw tools and techniques and I will add the power tools as I go.

    The hand rasping and filing also pits your sweat and blood into the knife and is soothing and I find it therapeutic. Those complaining about the hand tools don't have the patience to make this perfect.

    I love this and the skill I just learned.

    5.0
    KRuss
    Oct 17th 2017
    Husband loved it

    Man Crates have saved me on numerous occasions for presents for the men in my life! I've gotten my husband several and the knife making kits I've gotten him have been huge hits! Keeps him occupied for a few weeks after!

    5.0
    Joe R.
    Feb 18th 2017
    Great kit and great knife

    My wife found your website and showed me a couple of ideas she picked to get my father for his birthday/ Christmas present. He used to sharpen knives when he was younger so I said get him this kit. I also said hey I would not mind one as well. She said she already bought me my Christmas gift. So I said keep it in mind for some other gift giving holiday. Well she ended up getting me one as well. Only problem was she mixed up the delivery dates. My dad got his early and I got mine late. I had a lot of fun crafting my handle and sheath. I posted a picture of the final piece on your facebook page. The tools included drill bit minus the drill, bolster, files, pins, vise, and sandpaper are all great and I'm even useing the tools to make a different brand of knife kit. One thing that would have been nice to include in the instructions that I recently learned about would have been to talk about the option on how to press your bolster pins to make the two pins seamless to the bolster. A video tutorial or a link to a trusted YouTuber who has done this kit would also make a great addition to your instructions.

    5.0
    Alicia G.
    Feb 6th 2017
    Score for me!

    My husband is so hard to buy for. I bought this for him for Christmas as he loves collecting guns and knives. (If you ever have a "make your own gun kit" I am in). I was so excited to find this item and this company. He LOVED it to say the least and spent Christmas night making his knife. He even made his own sheath. The product is solid, it was sharp (very sharp), and materials were all made well. Thank you for this awesome product.

    5.0
    Gloria
    Feb 2nd 2017
    He loved it!!!

    I have never written a review for a product that I've purchased before, but I had to make an exception this time. I ordered the knife making kit for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved it!! Not only was ordering the kit easy for me, but everything from the presentation of the product down to the instructional booklet were GREAT!! Everything needed to make the knife is included and what better gift to get him than something that he can make with his own hands and have for years to come. The first thing my boyfriend said was I can't wait to make this knife it's something that I can pass down to Alex (his son) when he gets old enough!!! That in itself was an added bonus that hadn't occurred to me. The kit is worth every penny!! Thank you so much Man Crates!!! You have def earned yourself a return customer and I will be recommending you to all of my friends!!!

    5.0
    Steven Froehlich
    Jan 29th 2017
    Best xmas present EVER!

    First of all, I want to say that Mancrates.com is f@cking awesome! Ok, now for the review. This was my second man crate, the first one being the exotic jerky crate (Father's Day). I got this one as a Christmas present. I was both excited and nervous. I was thinking how cool it would be to do a project like this, but I didn't want to screw it up. So I put on my big boy pants and dove right in. I couldn't be happier with how it turned out. This may have sparked an interest in a new hobby. Thanks again Mancrates!

    5.0
    John Medeiros
    Jan 12th 2017
    Wicked Awesome Stuff

    My wife gave me this fantastic Knife Making Kit for Christmas. All the components are high quality, and the Instruction Guide is comprehensive and easy to understand. Just be sure to READ It prior to crafting this fine instrument. I did not, and obliterated a few components. The folks at Man Crates
    (Amer J., Customer Champion) were understanding and surely amused, but nevertheless; ensured the
    customer-damaged replacement parts were sent out promptly. Outstanding products and customer support equals a return customer.

    5.0
    Jacquie T
    Jan 11th 2017
    WAY AWESOME

    Those are the words my son used to describe how he felt about this as his Christmas gift! I am so pleased! I think a site aimed at men for men is a wonderful way for us ladies to buy for the men in our life without, as you say, the 'fluff'...Thank You Man Crates for making shopping easier for us!!

    5.0
    Knottme
    Dec 27th 2016
    SUPER AWESOME

    I had doubts . . . 5 star reviews on everything? No way. Well. YES way. The box impressed him. The card, the way it was packaged, the kit, it all impressed him. Best gift I ever bought him! Where have you been all my life?

    5.0
    Steph Ryder
    Nov 17th 2016
    Perfect gift

    I bought this kit for my boyfriend for his 30th birthday. We're both huge fans of the tv show "Forged in Fire" and he loves talking about knives. The kit was a huge SUCCESS and he started making his knife immediately. All in all it probably took him about 5 days to make, working 1-1.5 hours per night.

    5.0
    Denise Willet
    Sep 29th 2016
    25th Wedding Anniversary

    I bought this for my husband for our 25th Wedding anniversary. Finding something "silver" for a man just isn't that easy so I thought it's the right color! My husband said it's the best gift EVER! Our 23 yr old son said the same thing and is now asking for one for Christmas. I wanted him to have something that he could remember our big day and pass it down to our son later so this was perfect. LOVE all the tools it comes with and can't wait do order more at Christmas time. This isn't my first, I ordered him the Red Heart box of Jerky for his birthday last month! Thank you MAN CRATES! You are now all over Facebook with pictures we posted!

    5.0
    Canadian girl
    Sep 24th 2016
    He loved it

    I bought this for my favorite coworker's birthday and he said it's the coolest gift he's ever received. Thanks Man Crates!!!!!
    Just wish I could have got it in an ammo container!

Back to Top