1. Instant Gifts Sent to His Inbox: Last-Minute Gifting Solution for Dad - Shop Now

All reviews for Knife Making Kit

Back to Knife Making Kit
Sort by:
    5.0
    Shane A Aydelott
    Dec 28th 2019
    Fun gift

    My wife got me this knife kit for Christmas. We like to watch the knife making show on T.V., so she knew I would enjoy this. I will say that even though the blade is finished, it still takes more than 3 hours to attach the handle, at least for me, and that's OK.

    5.0
    Vanessa McGarry
    Dec 26th 2019
    Perfect gift!!

    My son watches a show on TV about knife making so I knew he would love this! He is so excited to start his little project!! I wish I had gotten this one for my other son instead of the auto care crate. Would have been the same price at the time and I think he would have liked it so much more.

    5.0
    Colleen
    Nov 16th 2019
    Anniversary

    Got my boyfriend this. He carried the box around with him everywhere we went for the next 2 weeks just showing everyone what he got and how he made it and was just so proud of the dang thing. Still loves his knife. Still brags to everyone how he got to hand-make it.

    5.0
    Sharon
    Nov 8th 2019
    He was smiling from ear to ear!

    Just gave this to my fiance for his birthday. He loved it! He was just as excited over the tools that came in the box as he was with the knife makings.
    Thanks for a great gift!

    5.0
    Joshua Mcmillen
    Oct 4th 2019
    Beyond just a gift

    My wife bought the knife kit for me thinking it might be something I enjoyed doing. She never expected how much joy it would bring me. I was scared at first of screwing it up but as it came together I was getting more and more drawn into it and out of myself and doubt. Loved this whole process, love the finished product. Very high quality. My son will inherit this knife, a knife his father's hands put together.

    5.0
    Amanda
    Sep 22nd 2019
    Anniversary gift

    I gave this to my husband for our anniversary and he absolutely loves it!

    5.0
    Dan
    Jul 28th 2019
    Therapeutic

    Never done any wood working, but thoroughly enjoyed this project. My brother got it for me as a bday gift, and wow what a blast putting this together.

    5.0
    Bethany
    Jul 25th 2019
    Yes!

    My husband loves this! We were also able to get it shipped to our FPO address in Okinawa. I wasn't sure if we were going to be able to but I guess it was one of the few military zips that it could go to! He is so excited to make it. After the other couple items I purchased, I know it'll be great quality. The knife kit is very nicely packaged. *NOTE* it DOES NOT come in a crate! It just comes in a regular box. So if you're wanting the crate, you'll need to tack on another gift ;) one gift just isn't enough from man crates!

    5.0
    Georgia K
    Jul 19th 2019
    Best Gift Ever

    I got this for my boyfriend’s birthday. He absolutely loved it!!! He told me it was the best gift he’s ever gotten. He can’t wait to make his “Man Knife” creation and I can’t wait to surprise him with more man crates in the future.

    5.0
    Joni
    Jul 12th 2019
    So Much Fun!!!

    Not a man, but I got this knife making kit as a gift to myself and it was one of the best purchases I have ever made! Everything I needed came in the kit, although I did use a coping saw to remove about an inch of excess wood. The instructions were easy to follow and I really enjoyed myself watching it come along. If you're thinking about buying this kit, GO FOR IT!!! I may try the pipe carving kit next!

    5.0
    Chance
    Jun 28th 2019
    Awesome

    I mainly bought because it came in a crate but then I read more and realized this one was just the cardboard box which was still ok because I opted for the diabolical duct tape cocoon anyways. I order two things wrapped in the duct tape. One was for my dad who had quite the hassle trying to get it open, which was the funniest thing to watch. This gift was for my boyfriend and somehow I ended up being the one who got to open it. I took my gerber knife to that duct tape box and had it opened in seconds so I was a little bummed about that.
    Anywho, my guy loved the gift but has yet to start the project.
    I can’t wait to see how it turns out and will definitely buy other gifts from man crates.

    ****Also can I add that I got this the day after I ordered it!?!? How awesome is that.

    5.0
    Mary Zahn
    Jun 12th 2019
    Perfect Man Gift - Hands Down!

    I never saw my husband smile so much when opening a gift, and then sustaining the smile while checking out every item in the box. This is by far the most perfect gift, especially for one who loves Forged in Fire. Man Crates thought of everything, including keeping up the humor. I can't wait for the build. I am sure he will be adding his own review once he completes the project. But for now -- LADIES - Want to make your man beyond happy? Just give him this knife making kit and he will be like a kid in a candy store.

    5.0
    Patti Marsh
    Jun 4th 2019
    Knife Making Kit

    I wish I thought of it! We made knives at a few clinics thru the years and you have everything here. I thought it would be a "quilt in a day" experience where you go home with a pot holder. But the knife making experience was awesome and I loved the time it took to hand work the steel and the wood to create something with a mirror finish and highly usable! You will love the experience!

    5.0
    Don Gould
    May 9th 2019
    A fantastic gift - Enjoyed the build

    I am a huge fan of Discovery Channels Reality TV show, Forged in Fire, which is a knife building show. I never thought I would have an opportunity to build a knife as I don't have any of the tools that they use on the show.
    My wife gave me the kinfe making kit for Christmas 2018. I just recently had the time to build the knife, so I did. The project went exceptionally smooth and the knife turned out way above my of my wife's expectations.
    I'm hooked and have now started my second knife build project as a result of the success I had with the Man Crate kit. Thanks to my wife for the great gift. Thanks to Man Crates for including everything in the kit to make this a successfully and enjoyable DIY project.

    5.0
    Don Williams
    May 7th 2019
    Found a new hobby

    This kit came complete with everything needed to create fit and finish your own knife and customize it any way you want. Yes it takes some time to do it right and by hand I went a step further and tried some eastern red cedar for my scales (stole it from my wife's craft scrap pile SHHHH) Still have to finished the sheath but very happy with the way the knife turned out, I am having so much fun with it I am going to order a few more blades of different styles and see how it turns out. I may have just found a side business that I love doing.

    5.0
    L. E. Bonnette
    Mar 2nd 2019
    No Complaint From Me

    I can't figure why people are complaining about the box. My main concern was the contents, which were of much higher quality than I expected. My wife hit a homer by buying me the folder kit for Christmas. I just wanted to complete the project so I could say that I did it. I never expected to actually carry the finished knife, but I was amazed at the quality of the completed product. (I am a big knife guy. If I accidently leave my cell phone at home, I'll let it go, but I will turn around and drive 5 miles back home if I forget my blade!) It easily meets (and surpasses) all my criteria for EDC (every day carry) and has become my EDC of choice over my $175 ZT and numerous Outdoor Edge and Kershaw knives which I own. I had so much fun and was so amazed at my result, I immediately ordered the Idaho Hunter refill kit. Now if I had one gripe, it would be that you need to offer more refills! Yeah, the kit comes with a completed and finished blade, but there's still plenty to do to make it into a knife. I guess you'll have to include a forge to make everybody happy. I'll buy it if you do! One of the best gifts I ever received. Oh, and I have to mention the tools. I was impressed with their quality also. Excellent quality files and a high quality vise as well. All now reside in my tool box and will provide years of service. Thanks for giving me a new hobby. I just retired after over 30 years as a police officer...I know knives.

    5.0
    Shelby
    Feb 15th 2019
    Awesome gift!

    I bought this gift for my fiance for Valentine's Day! He absolutely loved it! I don't normally leave reviews but since its the day after Valentines and he has already completed the project - I thought it was definitely worth a review!

    5.0
    John Cook
    Feb 1st 2019
    I can't stop fondling it...

    My wife got this as a Birthday gift for me. Once I started making the knife I couldn't stop. It was so fun shaping the metal and forming the wood to fit my hand perfectly. I now consider myself an experienced knife maker and have a fun new hobby. Thanks babe.

    5.0
    Jon Oeller
    Jan 20th 2019
    This was fun and exciting

    My wife and daughter got me this gift for Christmas. I tackled it right away. Fun project and hope they surprise me with another one.

    5.0
    Jaclyn
    Jan 8th 2019
    Amazing gift and the best Customer service in the world!!

    I bought this for my grandfather after my original item got oversold. The original item was half the price of this but because they accidentally oversold the item they gave this to me for the same price and free shipping! This was the item I wanted all along! While waiting for this knife kit to deliever I received my original item in the mail and so I called them to let them know what happened and they told me to keep it that too! I have never worked with a company that actually genuinely cared and I will be ordering from here a lot!!!!

    5.0
    Stacy
    Dec 28th 2018
    Son Loved It

    I bought this for my 14 year old son. He loves stuff like this, and was not disappointed. It took him about 6 hours to complete, and now wants another one for every birthday/Christmas. Looking forward to purchasing others. Have never seen him so excited about a gift, and then the finished product!

    5.0
    MikeG
    Dec 26th 2018
    Love this Kit

    What a great Christmas Gift my GF bought me , I love to work with my hands and building stuff. This is perfect since I am also a knife collector. This kit has everything you need to make a knife be careful blade is sharp. Looking forward to taking this knife with me when I go fishing..

    5.0
    H Gobrick
    Dec 13th 2018
    Merry Christmas!

    My 3 kids bought me this last Christmas. I waited until I had the time to properly dedicate to building this. Had I known in advance what it would turn out like I would have taken time off just to enjoy the process earlier! Very impressive...be patient and enjoy the build in your spare time. Worth it in the end...will wear it proudly!

    5.0
    Greg
    Dec 6th 2018
    A great gift

    Got this for my birthday from my girlfriend. Very sharp blade, good steel, easy to follow instructions and if you like working with your hands this is the perfect gift that will last you a life time.

    5.0
    WP Croom
    Aug 15th 2018
    Birthday gift for son

    I purchased the kit in February but started in May. Just finished and very much enjoyed the process. Best advice is to have patience.
    My sons birthday is in October so the anticipation is a bonus!

Back to Top