close

All reviews for Watch Making Kit

Back to Watch Making Kit
Sort by:
    Ellis
    Jan 28th 2021
    Lots of fun. Some pain.

    All in all, I had a great time assembling this watch. As others have mentioned, there were some pain points.

    I spent hours trying to affix the second hand. From the reviews, I see that a lot of folks gave up and went without it, and I don't blame them. There was a lot of cursing on my part. Most of the problem was that the loupe (magnifying glass) supplied with the crate has a focus point about two inches in front of the lense, so you basically have to hunker down with your face almost touching your workspace, your eye socket squinched shut to keep the loupe in place, and then figure out how to wedge the hand setting tool in there too. Once I broke down and grabbed a head-mounted loupe with a more distant focus point, I had the second hand in place within 5 minutes.

    The next roadblock were the ears that hold the movement to the case. Threading those teeny tiny screws into the earholes and then trying to screw them into the movement holder caused a lot more cursing. Ultimately, I scrapped the recommendations in the instructions and set the screw facing threads-up on my workspace and lowered the ears down onto it with a set of tweezers. Be careful with the tweezers, though. If you put too much pressure on a screw or the ear, it'll pop right out of the tweezers and fly across the room.

    One other issue I had was that mine didn't come with a temporary stem/crown, so I just used the permanent stem/crown while setting the watch. No big deal. The problem I ran into was that pressing the stem release button was a bear. I know they recommend this being a two man job to release this, but I found that was just too many fingers stuffed into a watch. What I wound up doing instead was to put the movement face-down into the case (with something soft under the crystal so it doesn't scratch) and then press the stem release button with the smallest Phillips screwdriver I could find (which for the record doesn't look anything like the picture in the instructions). The button has a recessed face, and the tip of the Phillips fit snugly into it, not slipping like everything else I tried.

    One last tip: before you clamp the ears down to secure the movement into place, turn the watch over and make sure the second hand is still spinning. I had the entire thing secured with the caseback on before I checked and found that some time in the hours of messing around trying to get the hand in place, that I'd bent it upwards, and it was pressing against the underside of the crystal, not allowing it to move. I had to take the whole thing apart (more cursing) and straighten the hand.

    I know it looks like I'm bashing the product, but I'm really not. Yeah, I'm old so my neck hurt for a week after craning down over this thing for so long, but it really was fun. I have about 30 or so watches, and this one jumped right to the top of my most worn list. I smile at the work I put into it every time I look down at it. 5 stars and would recommend to friends.

    D. Cavanaugh
    Apr 5th 2020
    Date ring to dial spacer ?

    Great kit, didn't really like the band selection and design. I did have a problem installing the dial too close to the date ring causing it not to move to only find out there is an available spacer to prevent this. Why does this kit not come with the required spacer?
    Thank you,
    DevCav

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Sorry about that missing spacer. Give us a buzz at 866-902-7260 and we'll get you hooked up!

    -Team Man Crates

    Reginald Rey
    Jan 12th 2020
    DIY Did it myself!

    I am a watch collector. This awesome diy gift with options of how you would like to build it was Christmas gift from my wife.

    MKT
    Jun 27th 2019
    Fathers Day gift.

    This is one of the best gifts I have received. I had so much fun assembling the watch. My wife knows I like tinkering and making things work and thought this would make a good gift. She was right!

    Peter Scanlan
    May 24th 2019
    Challenging But Awesome!

    This kit is fantastic! Wish it came in a crate you needed a crowbar to access but what can you do? Instructions are detailed and easy to follow, but prepare yourself as there are several time consuming and potentially frustrating steps to building your new watch. This kit definitely requires a steady hand and a gentle touch. That being said, I loved (almost) every minute of building my watch and have a great looking high quality time piece as a result. Well done Man Crates (again)!

    William
    Jun 7th 2021
    Successful, but by no means straightforward, assembly.

    1. Screwdriver that came with kit was too blunt to fit in the slots on the screws. I needed to sharpen the tip for it to fit.

    2. A spacer is needed between the date ring and the dial. Without one, the date ring is compressed and will not advance. I used plastic collar stays as temporary shims while I screwed on the dial. After removing the shims, the clearance is perfect.

    3. I was not able to turn the clips that anchor the movement to the case fully outward. I was able to tighten them down at about a 45 degree angle. Hopefully this will be sufficient.

    4. Instructions for sizing the band were a total failure for my 6.75 inch (narrow) wrist. They do not take into account the additional strap that winds across the case lugs. So, my band was already cut (per instructions) too short to fit my wrist before it was threaded through the watch. I suggest everyone first attach the strap on the watch before determining where to mark, punch, and cut the leather.

    5. While a loupe wasn’t necessary, having one will make this project a lot easier.

    Jason Kaplan
    Jan 2nd 2020
    Second hand won’t stay

    This is my third gift my wife has given me from Mancrates, and all have been awesome.

    Unfortunately, as I sit here trying to put the watch together, I can not get the second hand to stay in place. It appears that something has pulled out of the movement itself to hold the hand, as I could feel what appeared to be something sticking out of the hole. When I looked at it under with some reading glasses, there was indeed a piece of metal coming out, which then fell off and is gone forever.

    Haven’t yet decided if I’ll put it together without the second hand, and just wear it as is, or not.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Watch Making Kit you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you! That being said, we're happy to work with you to make this right, as we stand behind all of our products with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a buzz at 866-902-7260 -Team Man Crates

    Dan Patten
    Dec 11th 2019
    Great in theory, bad in practice

    I got a kit for my birthday in March. Finally got around to putting it together and I can tell you the tools provided will not get the job done. Luckily, I have some tools I bought a while back and I was able to get the watch together. The hands are very flimsy so be careful when pressing down with the number 4 tool. I ended up having to use the other set of hands. It's a really cool idea and as someone who has wanted to build a watch, this crate was fairly comprehensive but lacking in quality.

    Jacqueline Martino
    Oct 21st 2019
    Agree with flawed

    Bought this for my dad for Father’s Day. He loves watches and was excited to receive this gift. He started out strong but the pieces didn’t match up and he was very frustrated. He tried to make a part “fit” and it wound up breaking. Man Crates was helpful in replacing the broken piece but ran into further frustration trying to complete the process. This was not a win for us and I would not recommend it.

    Lenny Friedman
    Oct 6th 2019
    Flawed

    I have some watch making and clockworks experience and was disappointed in some of the details. The tool which was supposed to be the required screwdriver was too large for the tiny screws. The second hand would not fit and even though I was sent an additional works and second hand it still did not fit.
    I have magnifying loupes and can't imagine how anyone could put this together without them. The watch itself appears to be of good quality but mine has no second hand as it just would not work. I had fun putting it together but really can imagine someone without experience being very frustrated.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there Lenny, sorry to hear that this gift missed the mark! GIve us a buzz at 866-902-7260 and we'll work with you to make this right!

    Heller
    Jan 18th 2021
    Second hand attached

    Could not even start the project as the second hand was attached and I had no tool to remove. My first watch kit and this has turned me off to a new hobby. Very disappointed.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Trevor
    Dec 29th 2020
    listen to the others

    Better instructions are needed. I like the 'fun' attitude to things and the way they are written but having access to some real step by step, detailed, instructions when dealing with something in this price range would be nice. Tell me exactly how to line up the face and exactly how far it should be pressed down so that it doesn't interfere with the date movement or the hands. Things like that.
    There are too many tiny parts that can snap off if something isn't perfect the first time.
    The second hand on mine would either not stay in place or press too tightly against the hour hand so that it moved with it. The final time it popped off it disappeared into the ether. Leaving me with either a mismatched second hand or no second hand. Even without a second hand I figure if the next steps are as obscure it will just get more frustrating.
    To save what is left of my sanity I put the entire kit in a drawer where it will likely stay.
    I'm sure the giver had the best intent but it was not a good Christmas gift.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Dan
    Dec 29th 2020
    Dissapointed

    Got this sent to me overseas in a deployed location as a Christmas gift from my mother. Upon opening the box and starting step one I noticed the hand on the first part was broken off and paint was chipped on it.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Colton C.
    Dec 25th 2020
    Great idea, terrible execution

    So my wife got me this for Christmas, and I was pretty excited once I opened the box to and figured out what it was. I had never put a watch together and was excited for the challenge. First the watch movement case was broken with little bits of plastic from the sides laying in the box. Second the movement came with a second hand attached, meaning I couldn’t even put the face on the movement. So this project wasn’t even able to get past step one since I also have no tool to take the hand off with. Like I said at the top of the review this is a great idea, just really lacking on the execution part of it.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Arthur Lee
    Sep 30th 2020
    Really Disappointing

    I received this as a gift. The instructions were sparce, materials flimsy and the bizarre watch band was nothing I would ever wear.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there, thank you for your feedback! Apologies that you were disappointed in the Watch Making Kit you received! We do our best to offer a great experience and value for the price and we're sad to hear we missed that mark for you. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to work with you to make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    Paul
    Feb 15th 2020
    Fix what you've been told is wrong

    I received this as a gift. Like other reviewers have said, the supplied screwdriver is too big for the screws. Come on man crates, you've been told this several times...FIX IT! Also, I wouldn't have been able to assemble the watch without other watch tools I already had like a stem removal tool, tweezers and proper size screwdriver. For the price of this kit these tools should have been included. The instructions are also lacking, especially at the part placing the face on the movement. The instructions should mention the face cannot be installed tight against the movement because it prevents the date from moving properly. How the leather bands attach to the watch is also poor. This makes the watch uncomfortable to wear. The band also covers up the glass back so you can't see the movement. Why have a glass back if the band is going to cover it up? The instructions weren't correct when punching the holes for the band either. I followed the directions and the band was too small. It's a shame because with the proper tools and better bands this could have been a really fun gift. Not worth the money.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Watch Making Kit you received. We do our best to make sure every food product we send is fresh, and I'm sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a replacement, discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    Chase Webb
    Feb 8th 2020
    don't buy

    I got this as a gift from my girlfriend. She was so excited to give it to me because she know how I like to build things and how I have always wanted to get into watch building. It's a great idea but the screw diver that came with the watch does not fit. I would like to note it is not the one shown on the web site or in box instructions. contacted customer service and they attempted to help but we stopped trying after the 2nd attempt to get the proper tools. I like this company but this a solid disappointment

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Watch Making Kit you received. We do our best best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a replacement, discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    Dennis
    Jan 2nd 2020
    Disappointed

    First off the screwdriver is too large for the watch screws and must be filed down. After getting the watch assembled, I could not get the date to set and the date will not change in a 24 hour period. I contacted Man Crates about the problem and their reply was sorry here is a 20% discount on my next purchase. Not how they could make it right or suggestions on what may be the problem, but a discount on my next purchase. That is pretty bold in assuming I will purchase from you again, so I will set the record straight and let you know that won't happen.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Watch Making Kit you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you! That being said, we're happy to work with you to make this right, as we stand behind all of our products with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a buzz at 866-902-7260 -Team Man Crates

    Gary Borland
    Dec 26th 2019
    Instructions are poor

    Screwdriver doesn't fit the screws for attaching the face. Getting the mechanism to the point where the date changes is wrong. I've turned mine and the date doesn't change. So far I've done two steps and both have been either impossible or need thinking outside the box. I have a full tool set and mechanical experience so the screwdriver I needed I had but for the price this is a frustrating experience. I've contacted customer service and we'll see what the response is.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Watch Making Kit you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you! That being said, we're happy to work with you to make this right, as we stand behind all of our products with a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a buzz at 866-902-7260 -Team Man Crate

    Leslee Martin
    Dec 6th 2019
    Read the reviews before purchasing

    Read the reviews before purchasing! I did not do that, and I am mad at myself. I have purchased numerous man crates, and been very pleased with all of them. However this one was not thought out enough. Like other users have mentioned, the screwdriver they sent for the microscopic screws does not actually work with the screws in the watch. I did not know that. When I called to let them know the tool was not the right size, they sent us a replacement ( which was very nice of them), but it was the exact tool that I already had... even though they asked me to send a picture of the original screwdriver. I’m not sure how we are going to assemble this watch without the proper tools. Very disappointed 😔

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the Watch Making Kit you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

Back to Top