close

All reviews for Puzzle Box - Secret Society

Back to Puzzle Box - Secret Society
Sort by:
    Theresa
    Dec 28th 2020
    You're taking your chances

    I read the reviews and saw that the older ones indicated problems but the newer ones were all glowing. I figured that whatever production issues existed had been fixed. I was wrong. I had this sent directly to my brother's family since I thought they could solve it together. Due to the pandemic, we visited and opened our gifts using Zoom. I was sort of disappointed at how easily they got through the duct tape. My brother looked very intrigued by the box but would open after our call. I was pleased by the look on his face and couldn't wait to hear what they thought. Well, they got the wrong gears for the last puzzle and my sister in law got a splinter. I was so disappointed that I sent them a gift card to someplace else to get something for the family.

    Ashley Hall
    Dec 30th 2018
    Poor packaging

    Sent as a gift to my uncle for Christmas. It arrived damaged and the box fell apart before solving the puzzle. My uncle is gluing it back together, but thought you should know there seems to still be a packaging issue.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Sorry to hear your order arrived broken! We have identified a minor quality issue with this product early on and we've added steps to our production process to ensure that this issue doesn't happen again. We'd be happy to replace your order at no cost, please give us a call at 866.902.7260 and we'll make this right!

    Cheers,
    Team Man Crates

    Sandy Reilly
    Dec 28th 2018
    Incomplete/misprinted set

    We got this as a gift from our relatives. We love puzzles, escape rooms, etc. This was right up our alley. Buzzing right along in solving and then discovered that part of what we needed wasn't completely printed on an object, did okay with winging it. Then we get to the last puzzle and realize we have two of the same piece which made getting to the last solution impossible without any help. Had to call to get what we needed to finish. This could have been executed much better if all of the parts were actually there or properly printed.

    Melissa
    Dec 26th 2018
    Broken on arrival but great customer support

    I was so excited to give this to my husband for Christmas. He loves puzzles. It was shipped in a very flimsy box and the big letters could on the front had ripped the outer box and the puzzle box was busted into about 50 pieces. Customer service refunded the money immediately without question and didn’t even want me to return it. I see they have temporarily removed the item. I’m guessing for repackaging. Our anniversary is in just under 2 weeks. I’m hoping it is back available to try again!

    Angel
    Dec 10th 2018
    Arrived broken, but he still enjoyed it...

    The puzzle box is wrapped in cardboard, but unfortunately, one of the sides of the box was snapped free from the rest of the box when he opened it. The padlock was already ‘open’ (not latched) but knowing these kinds of padlocks—-it was better that it was open. These are the padlocks you set yourself, and once latched and you try to create a code- game over, it can become a doorstop.

    So we have a popped box, unlatched lock, but he still had fun going through the puzzle anyway. The Kershaw knife is a great little pocketknife. I can glue the side back onto the box if need be, but it wasn’t protected very well from the abuses of parcel shipping.

    He did love reading the instructions, using the snap-in gears to make words-and the mazes!

    Jen Ross
    Feb 28th 2021
    Impossible to open

    My mom got this for my son for his birthday. The puzzle was awesome and fun for all of us. However once we solved the puzzle (yes I'm sure we solved it correctly) the last step was impossible. The tool provided did not work to remove the screws. One screw was completely stuck and the tool broke. My husband had to take it out back and destroy the box with a hammer. Super disappointed.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there, thank you for your feedback! We're bummed to hear that you were disappointed in the Puzzle Box you received! We do our best to offer a great experience and value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you. We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to work with you to make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    Mike A. D.
    Jan 10th 2021
    Was having fun until....

    The puzzle was great! Up until the gears. I recieved four gears as anticipated and on first observation of them assumed they alligned with the badges. However, rather than having four different gears all with different spokes in correlation with badge number I had three different gears and a twin. Unable to make sense of it I spent the next half hour searching for something I must have missed to make sense of the five spoked twin. After reviewing materials given, I came to the conclusion that the puzzle wasn't beating me but an error was. My six spoked gear was accidentally replaced with a five spoked gear. This lead me to go online and find the phrase that pays, gifting me with the precious tool needed to open the next phase. The "precious tool" broke after approx. nine 30° turns. This is the first review I've ever written, not really my thing. But I like puzzles and figured I'd tell you it was fun until... I faced the gear that lies and the one toothed key. After I post this beast I'm walking to the shop to forge something that will unearth the contents of this crate and bring it to light (not a hammer)

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Charlie
    Dec 25th 2020
    Great Idea, Poor Execution

    My daughter gave me this as a Xmas gift. The puzzles were fun to figure out but the mechanical pieces/solutions didn't work very well. The worst was, I got to the last step and had to use a special tool that was part of the discovery process to remove the final four screws. Unfortunately, the flimsy prongs broke off before I got a single screw out. Also, the paper clip in the hole didn't work either...tried a beefier one, still no luck...ended up using a small screwdriver to push the spring in. Good try ManCrate, the box was extremely sturdy and well made.

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Michelle
    Dec 31st 2018
    Issues with box

    I gave this to my Dad as a gift for the holidays and it kept the family entertained for hours. However, there were a few issues that made the gift a disappointment. To start, the box arrived broken with one foot broken off. Secondly, the lock was not set properly. We figured out the code but it wouldn’t open. By having 5 people randomly fiddling with it, we got it open. And lastly, the 4 gears we received were all the same. There was no way to crack the code with all the same gears. With process of elimination my brother made new gears to figure it out. Had the puzzles actually been set properly this gift could have been a hit. Unfortunately we are disappointed in this product and would not recommend ordering it until they improve their quality control.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,
    Sorry to hear your order arrived broken! We have identified a minor quality issue with this product early on and we've added steps to our production process to ensure that this issue doesn't happen again. We'd be happy to replace your order at no cost, please give us a call at 866.902.7260 and we'll make this right!
    Cheers, 
Team Man Crates

    Beth
    Dec 25th 2018
    Not much to puzzle about

    The lock on it was already open. Ugh. My son is working on the puzzles - but not much point sadly. Lemon Christmas gift.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there Beth,

    Sorry to hear that! Give us a buzz at 866-902-7260 and we'll make it right!

    -Team Man Crates

    Laura Thomson
    Dec 18th 2018
    Arrived Broken

    After reading the above reviews, I decided to open the shipping packaging and look at the one I got for my husband. It was also broken, the side panel with the battery in it was loose in the box. There was no damage done to the shipping packaging, and it looks like it was not glued sufficiently the first time. So I just glued it back on and it should still be able to work. I am sure my husband will still enjoy it Christmas morning.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there Laura,

    Sorry to hear your order arrived broken! We have identified a minor quality issue with this product early on and we've added steps to our production process to ensure that this issue doesn't happen again. We'd be happy to replace your order at no cost, please give us a call at 866.902.7260 and we'll make this right!

    Cheers,
    Team Man Crates

    Evan Rush
    Dec 25th 2020
    Really bad craftsmanship

    Received this as a gift. There are enough reviews on the puzzle aspect let’s talk about the product... OMG is the craftsmanship appalling. Tons of play on the latch, bottom secret already mostly revealed, legs are all different sizes making it impossible to sit level, and none of cuts are even or flush. Craftsmanship is so bad I think I might need repair it and fix it up myself before I show it to friends... I’m not sure if this is normal quality or/and they rushed them out the door for the holidays. Also having one of the secrets revealed due to poor quality made me sad. I wish I could post pictures...

    Man Crates Response: Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the product you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please reach out to our awesome customer service team by giving us a call at 866-902-7260 or sending over an email to guys@mancrates.com and we’d be happy for the opportunity to make this right ASAP!

    -Team Man Crates

    Darryl
    Jan 2nd 2019
    I should have read recent reviews before ordering . . .

    I ordered this as a Christmas present. It came with the padlock already off the box and was missing the extra pieces. Wasted money, wasted effort, and a pretty disappointed recipient.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Sorry to hear your order arrived broken! We have identified a minor quality issue with this product early on and we've added steps to our production process to ensure that this issue doesn't happen again. We'd be happy to replace your order at no cost, please give us a call at 866.902.7260 and we'll make this right!

    Cheers,
    Team Man Crates

    Bobby
    Dec 26th 2018
    Lots of Issues

    My wife ordered this for me for Christmas. It arrived intact and on time. Opening the box, the lock was locked, but not through the hasp, just loose in the packaging. Played through the clues until the "gears" part. All the gears in my box are identical, so there was no way to finish the last clue. Finally used the online clues to finish the puzzle. There was nothing under the false bottom. My wife said there was supposed to be a flashlight.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there Bobby,

    Sorry to hear about the troubles you had! Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to turn this around!

    -Team Man Crates

    Stephanie Bauer
    Dec 25th 2018
    Broken

    Puzzle was broken and wood was all over could not use as gift

    Man Crates Response: Hey there,

    Sorry to hear your order arrived broken! We have identified a minor quality issue with this product early on and we've added steps to our production process to ensure that this issue doesn't happen again. We'd be happy to replace your order at no cost, please give us a call at 866.902.7260 and we'll make this right!

    Cheers,
    Team Man Crates

Back to Top