1. Limited-Time Savings On Ammo Cans, Crates, Jerky, and More! Up to 35% Off | Shop Deals Now

All reviews for Chef Knife Making Kit

Back to Chef Knife Making Kit
Sort by:
    5.0
    Joe Peters
    Jan 7th 2018
    Chef knife kit

    High quality materials and kit includes everything you need to complete a professional quality knife. I had two minor problems in assembling my knife.
    1. The vice has a problem with the ball joint. There is a mold line on the ball that protrudes above the surface of the ball. This interferes with the smooth functioning of the joint. A little filing to smooth it will fix it.
    2. The scales provided are way too big, necessitating a LOT of grunt work filing them down. Best to mark the outline of the tang, leaving an extra 1/4” or so. Then trim the scales with a hacksaw or other fine toothed saw, then glue the scales in place.

    5.0
    Randall Vidas
    Dec 26th 2017
    Fantastic Christmas Present

    Wow! Just received the Damascus Steel Chef Knife crate for Christmas. This is the best gift ever. I've always been interested in knives and knife making but do not have the equipment or skills to forge my one. This kit allows you to experience part of the creative process and comes complete with everything you need to make a beautiful (and super high quality) Damascus steel chef knife. I will begin making mine tomorrow. I highly recommend this high quality kit for anyone looking to give that unique jaw-dropping gift, or a gift for that creative person in your life.

    5.0
    Linda
    Oct 31st 2017
    At A Glance...

    Got this for the Mister as a Christmas present so he hasn't seen it yet, BUT I opened to make sure all the goodies were there (they are) and I was very impressed with the quality of the knife blade itself and the set of hand tools. When the accessory box seemed to have some weight to it, I knew they were well made. I can't wait until he opens it and gets going on it. Definitely will be back in a couple months for a hands on review.

    4.0
    Ed t
    Jun 16th 2019
    Good end result, nice vise, get real on tools

    Forget the files.. Micarta is too hard.
    With the included files/rasp it makes a good project for a 20 year to lifer. With nothing else to do.
    A Rotary tool with sanding spindle needs to be included

    4.0
    Gpa ed
    Jun 16th 2019
    The vise is great

    Got this for a father’s day present from my rich son. I’m 77. The micarta for the handle is very hard. If I had not switched to my bandsaw, belt sander, and Dremel tool, I would have been out of life expectancy.
    Nice portable vise. Suggest you at least include the dremel tool.

    4.0
    Kory Martin
    Apr 1st 2019
    Great knife

    The blade itself is amazing but the tools are not quite so good and the finish wasn’t as good as it looks in the pictures. Solved the tool issue by using my own and solved the finish issue by spraying with poly. For the money my wife paid I would have expected better tools and some kind of stain or polyurethane to come with it so it doesn’t just look like sanded wood but it was still fun.

    3.0
    Tony
    Jan 22nd 2019
    Disappointing Tools

    The rasp seemed unable to remove enough material. The vice is poorly designed as some part of the vice was always coming loose during material removal ( either the ball joint, the vice sectio or where the vice attaches to a table).

    Very frustrating.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there Tony, sorry to hear you were disappointed in the tools you received. Give us a buzz at 866-902-7260 so we can work this out with you, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

    2.0
    Zack Scott
    Dec 28th 2021
    Cool kit, but flawed materials

    Fun to make the knife, but the pieces don’t fit together. The pins are way too big for the drill bit provided, resulting in holes in the handle that are too small for the pins. The instructions make no mention of this or how to handle it.

    I decided to file the pins down a small amount and tap them in with a mallet. After filing the pins down, I still need excessive force to get them into the knife handle. This ended up cracking the Micarta scales straight through to the tang.

    Disappointing assembly experience and now I’ve got a big crack through my handle that no amount of filing will fix.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there, thank you for your feedback! Apologies that you were disappointed in the Knife Kit you received! We do our best to offer a great experience and value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you. We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a free product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to work with you to make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    1.0
    Pierre
    Feb 24th 2019
    Poor Qualitly

    After making the knife and let me start with when I say making the knife I mean putting a handle on it. With regular use, the tip has bent and the edge has rolls on it. I am very unhappy with the kit.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the knife you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

Back to Top