1. Memorial Day Sale - Take 20% Off Orders of $99+ - Sale Ends 5/27 USE CODE: MEMDAY2024

All reviews for Stacked Leather Dagger Making Kit

Back to Stacked Leather Dagger Making Kit
Sort by:
    5.0
    Kim Cook
    Mar 27th 2024
    They don’t fix their wrong

    I order the stacked knife with sheath as a gift. They sent the wrong sheath and after contacting them numerous times and several months of being told they’re looking into it, I'm chalking it up to my loss. I won’t order anything else from this company. Their customer service sucks!

    Man Crates Response: Hi Kim,

    We apologize for your disappointing experience.

    We received your call today and hopefully we were able to provide a resolution for this. However late, we are thankful that you gave us a chance to make this right.

    Let us know if you need anything else!

    - Team Man Crates

    5.0
    Scott Caron
    Jan 8th 2022
    Don't over-tighten the pommel

    I'd love to leave a great review, but I can't as my knife is now garbage. I over-tightened the pommel and snapped the threads off the tang. Treat it gently I guess is my suggestion.

    5.0
    Jim Reilly
    Oct 27th 2021
    Fun, fun , fun

    Hi,
    I'm 83 I have all my fingers, poor eye sight, I'm having fun working on the grips. I plan to build 2 more 🗡 for my boys 62 and 59. I'm in the process of completing my workbench ,another few days I'll be rocken and rolling
    Not only is the dagger
    great looking it's a great knife and weapon
    Thanks
    Shamus

    5.0
    JT
    Feb 26th 2021
    I’ll buy another one

    The first step was to put the guard on the tang but it didn’t even com close to fitting. Luckily I have a belt sander and took some metal off. After that it was a smooth breeze, goin to buy some beeswax today. I intend on purchasing more.

    5.0
    S Legg
    Dec 29th 2020
    Very Awesome!

    Received as a Christmas present from my Wife and Daughters! I love the whole idea! Gives me a hobby and an awesome knife in the end! I find my self dawdling away and enjoying every minute of it. Thanks so much!!

    5.0
    Shannon
    Jun 18th 2020
    Awesome product

    I bought this for my husband and he absolutely loves it. He wants another one even though he hasnt finished this one quit yet, lol. Thank you! Y'all are awesome. Will be ordering more in the near future. Hoping your able to get the pincone one in stock soon. I know he would love that one as well!

    5.0
    Ramon Mejia
    May 31st 2020
    Thank you.

    I ordered this for my favorite guy,myself. I received my order in 2 days,as I was inspecting it I noted that there was a small default in the blade. I sent a text right away with a photo. I expected Man creates to send me a shipping label so I could return the blade.2 days later,Man crates sent me a whole new kit and told me to keep the other one for parts. I've never known a company with this kind of customer service and follow up on guarentee.or a company with such a great guarentee..thank u again

    5.0
    Ramon Mejia
    May 31st 2020
    Thank you.

    I ordered this for my favorite guy,myself. I received my order in 2 days,as I was inspecting it I noted that there was a small default in the blade. I sent a text right away with a photo. I expected Man creates to send me a shipping label so I could return the blade.2 days later,Man crates sent me a whole new kit and told me to keep the other one for parts. I've never known a company with this kind of customer service and follow up on guarentee.or a company with such a great guarentee..thank u again

    3.0
    Rene Herd
    Dec 27th 2022
    Slightly disappointed

    I bought this for my husband. His third knife crate. The chef knife and pocket knife was his first two and all I heard was all the things that this kit did not contain. No files, glue was old and hardened, no beeswax included…. First two kits included everything he needed to completely finish knives and he was happy. He seems a little disappointed in this knife - wish I had come up with some other gift now for this kind of money.

    Man Crates Response: Oh no, I'm so sorry to hear about your gift coming in less than ideal condition. If you haven't already, definitely reach out to our team of Customer Champions who are standing by and happy to help with any order troubles you may have. They can be reached at guys@mancrates.com.

    3.0
    Miles Hundley
    Nov 26th 2022
    Can't get the tang on

    The tang is way to tight, I suspect the tig weld warped the metal near the end with the threads and made it no longer flush

    Man Crates Response: Hi Miles! Sorry to hear you're having troubles with that defective-sounding kit. Whenever the need arises, feel free to reach out to us at guys@mancrates.com for support. We'd love the opportunity to make that right!

    3.0
    David Hobbs
    Jan 1st 2022
    Mediocre

    Gave it three stars, but it's more like a 2-1/2 - just OK.
    I received it as a Christmas gift this year and immediately got to working on it.
    We're gonna start with the bad stuff.
    The screw that the pommel fits on was bent and the weld was a little off-center. I was able to straighten it out - so no big deal.
    The hole in the blade guard was cut too small to fit over the tang. A few minutes with some diamond files and a belt sander fixed this, but geez... This would've been a total deal breaker for someone who didn't own much for tools. I even screwed up sanding the tang down a little and have an 1/8" gap between the blade and the guard to deal with.
    Exxxxxpenisve for what you get. I know a bit about blade steel and AUS-8, although good, is pretty cheap these days. The fact that the blade isn't stamped, makes me wonder if it's really even AUS-8. With that said, the milling on the blade is pretty good and I was pleasantly surprised at how sharp it was, straight out of the box. Buttttt, the steel could've easily been stamped VG-10 and there still would've been a comfortable profit. The leather looks fairly cheap, but it serves the purpose.
    Odor - The kit smells like Harbor Freight and an army surplus store teamed up to make an industrial air freshener. When I smell this delightful aroma, I automatically think "cheap."
    This one's more of a me thing - After several hours of rasping, filing and sanding, that old man voice came out in me and said, "You own power tools, dummy!" Yeah, I broke down and used the Dremel and the belt sander on the handle. I could only take so much.
    Last gripe - the sheath design changed a little and the instructions didn't. Not a big deal for me, but could befuddle some.
    Bottom line - It's a good, productive time killer and the knife looks pretty cool, when finished (except for the annoying gap between the blade and the guard).
    The blade steel doesn't matter to me much, 'cause I don't really plan on actually using this knife. But, the price tag on the product for what you're actually getting is extremely steep. You can buy an assembled, name-brand knife with better steel for less money.

    Man Crates Response: Hey there, thank you for your feedback! Apologies that you were disappointed in the knife kit you received! We do our best to offer a great experience and value for the price and we're sorry to hear we missed that mark for you. We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a free product replacement, discount, or we can arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'd be happy to work with you to make this right.

    -Team Man Crates

    3.0
    Michelle
    May 30th 2020
    Could have been better

    Unfortunately it doesn't come with anything to shape the leather handle.
    Which kinda sucked cause my husband had to go buy stuff from the store to finish it.

    2.0
    Nicole Shope
    Dec 28th 2023
    Did not come in a fun crate to pry open.

    The knife itself is nice. It arrived in a boring cardboard box. Lesson learned, not all Man Crates come in an actual crate even though the names implies it. I paid for the concept of prying open a crate to get to the gift, not a piece of cardboard.

Back to Top