close

All reviews for Slaughterhouse Crate

Back to Slaughterhouse Crate
Sort by:
    Ashley
    Jun 17th 2018
    Father’s Day

    Such an awesome gift idea my husband loved opening it. The only issue is that I put in for their witty note cards and I never received it which is disappointing but otherwise it was perfect!

    Nela Prifti
    Aug 13th 2015
    4 out of 5

    I surprised my boyfriend with this gift and he got it delivered at work! Everything was great! He loved the thrill of opening the crate, but he said he needed some extra help to open it, and used a hammer. He's not big on the spice foods, so he liked everything but the spicy jerky. I wish you had the option to pick an choose instead of settle with what you all dictate should be in the crate. Overall I'm very satisfied, the customer service team was great, and very creative with their emails! Great work Man Crates.

    Anonymous
    Jun 26th 2015
    Awesome present. Awesome price... if you can split the cost with others

    I got this crate for my dad on Father's Day, and it was a hit! The jerky was honestly the softest, best jerky we have had in a long time. While the crate is pricey, plus shipping, it was definitely worth it- if you share the cost. I split the price with two siblings, so I only had to pay $30. However, I don't think I would have gotten this product if I didn't have anyone to split the price with. While my dad did really enjoy it, it's not worth the money if you can't share the cost. That's the reason I'm giving it 4 stars, even though it was a great Father's Day gift.

    Kennady
    Jun 23rd 2015
    Hard to open

    I was so excited to give this box to my dad for Father's Day. Once we got it out of the cardboard box he started to open it with the crowbar and he couldn't get it open! It took us about 20 minutes to finally pry it open but once we did he loved what was inside. May I suggest using a nail in each corner instead of gluing the lid on.

    Mr & Mrs Mahk
    Mar 9th 2015
    APO Recipient

    Attempted to order for Valentines Day two weeks in advance only to find a 3 week shipping timeframe to APO. My deployed husband agreed to wait the extra week when I explained I was excited to get him a unique gift. A week later, the order was never switched to "complete" when shipped so I called in. They said it had shipped and to call back in two weeks if he hadn't received it. Two weeks passed and he still hadn't received it so I called again and they said they would ship another to make sure he received it. He finally received the replacement crate today and he called me on FaceTime immediately so I could watch him open it a couple of hours ago! He has already devoured the chili lime jerky and is starting his second bag! APO shipping is unpredictable but the gift, although pricey, yielded the exact response I imagined! Very happy hubby! Looking forward to surprising our Dads on Father's Dat with this awesome concept! Keep the choices coming and we'll keep buying!

    Jen
    Feb 20th 2015
    I'm now the coolest wife ever to the guys my husband works with!

    I called a coworkers of his to get delivery instructions (I'm sure the guys were rolling their eyes thinking he gets flowers for Valentine's day) anyway - when it finally arrived I knew the delivery process in his building was difficult to say the least so I informed him he may want to check with the mailroom. Something May or MAY NOT have been delivered for him. He was scared I could tell. He actually hung up with me and said out loud "Good Lord, I hope she didn't have flowers sent here". They all got a good laugh & he went to get the package. When he started opening it, he got everyone's attention in the office. He posted pics of it and the infamous crowbar on FB and I actually got a FB message from the coworker saying "Very nice! Good job Jen". Someone he is friends with that I don't even know messaged me and asked where I got it so, be expecting some future business. I EXPECT a discount on my next order. :) PS: I'm giving 4 stars because I originally wanted the exotic meats or high roller crate. Keep those stocked up because Father's Day is right around the corner.

    Deziree
    Jan 16th 2015
    great! BUT....

    I went ahead and bout my boyfriend a man crate in early October. HOPING it would be there by the time christmas arrived since he is overseas in the military. I wanted it to be special. Luckily I was there to see him open it!! It was so exciting! It got there 2 weeks after Christmas and it didn't have a crow bar. I wasn't sure if the mail security from the base took it but it was a little disappointing. He loved it, anyways. He had to open it with other tools which made it fun for him in his eyes lol. So I guess it wasn't so bad after all. And he loved the jerky all around. Good quality.

    Diane
    Dec 31st 2014
    Man crates

    The first crate sent was wrong but when I called they sent one out still in time for Christmas. Customer service was great !

    Stan
    Dec 28th 2014
    Son really enjoyed the uniqueness

    My son took his man crate to the fire station and really enjoyed opening it in front of everyone. He commented the Jerky was "tasty". But I agree the box is small for the price. I'll need to rethink if I'll purchase another. For the experience.. I'd give it 5 stars. For the price 3 stars. Avg. 4 Stars!!

    Anonymous
    Dec 27th 2014
    3 star box of meat

    Great product, and packaging. Beef jerky selection was kind of generic though, and crate seems pretty small for almost $100 price tag (including shipping). Could have easily purchased all of the beef jerky included in the box on my own for a 1/5th of the price.

    Essentially paying an extra $65/$70 for generic jerky to come in a crate you need to open -- kind of a novelty, and not sure I'd order again for the price and selection.

    Anonymous
    Feb 17th 2014
    Something different!

    A great gift I thought to send to a gentleman I haven't known long but wanted to make a statement of interest. He truly seemed to like it and said how unique it was; very different from the usual chocolate or gift cards. It was a hit.

    Anonymous
    Feb 11th 2014
    Enjoyed the crate

    good gift, delivery was a day late due to the snowstorm. Nothing that could be done, I guess.
    *-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-
    Man Crates Edit: So sorry to hear your package arrived late! It sounds like delivery was effected by the extremely severe weather that is happening across the country right now. Glad to hear the crate was a hit, if we could change the weather for you, we would!

    Anonymous
    Jan 14th 2014
    good manly stuff

    send as a get well gift for a manly man. He loved it. Esp the crowbar to open!

    Jennifer
    Mar 5th 2015
    Nice but not as expected

    The crate was cute but pieces of wood that looked like they were glued on fell off when my husband turned the box over to get the crate out. There was a tracing of glue around the crate, and loose pieces of wood. The glue used either did not have enough time dry or maybe it was bad glue. The crate was very easy to open, I was expecting more of a struggle. The selection of beef jerky was great, the bag of corn nuts included was open and they spilled out in the crate. My husband still thought the crate was cool, I was disappointed with what he received for the price I paid.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    Jennifer, sorry to hear about your crate!! That is certainly not typical of the awesome experience we like to provide for our customers! Please give us a call at 866-902-7260 or shoot us an email at guys@mancrates.com and we'll make it right, promise.

    Anonymous
    Feb 26th 2015
    Not too bad

    Good variety of flavors, but crate opened way too easy & that was what I wanted to be the "fun" part of the gift, so a bit of a letdown.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    Hey there,

    So sorry to hear that the crate wasn't as tough to open as you would have liked! Cracking open the crate is indeed a huge part of the experience, and the fun is in the struggle!

    We'd love to help make this right, please give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to turn this around! Thanks!

    Lee
    Jan 10th 2015
    Timing was off

    The Slaughterhouse Mancrate was super, and the gift was well-received. I have absolutely no complaints about that. However, the timing was off. I ordered it a week ahead of time to be shipped/received on a date specific, but it arrived two days earlier than the intended date - and, it only had to travel from NJ to Brooklyn. That was awkward.

    Nicole
    Dec 31st 2014
    Slaughterhouse Jerky

    I was pretty disappointed that only 2 of the 6 packages of Jerky were either original or teriyaki flavor. The other 4 packages were Hot or Chipotle and my husband won't eat them. I wouldn't have spent the money on the slaughterhouse and would have just gone with the jerky gram had I known about this. The website only specifies what brand, not what flavor. I wish there was a spicy or regular option like the jerky grams.

    BA Todd
    Feb 18th 2014
    Not For My Man

    Didn't realize he were not a jerky fan. Thought all men loved jerky. So now I know. For a jerky lover this crate is a really nice gift that won't disappoint. The trail mix, chocolate bar and corn nuts are great. Will be back again for a third crate on next special occasion.

    Brianna
    Dec 26th 2016
    Not a hit

    My husband is incredibly hard to shop for. I ran into man crates and thought how awesome and different for Christmas! But he tried to play it off that he liked it, but he didn't. Very upsetting that it wasn't a ht. He liked opening the crate, but that was about it. I guess not for everyone. Great service and fast shipping though.

    Lori Johnson
    Apr 16th 2015
    All but 2 Jerky's were spicy and Corn Nuts had ants

    Very disappointed, the Corn Nuts arrived with ants in it.

    (Website link Removed)

    Also, all the jerry except for 2 bags was spicy

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    Hi Lori, this is James, we spoke on the phone earlier today regarding your order. Again, I am so sorry to hear about the issues you had with your crate!

    The circumstances surrounding your order were completely unusual for us, and we've never seen anything like that here at Man Crates HQ! As I explained we have already begun to take action to ensure this situation does not occur again.

    At the end of our conversation it seemed that we were able to make it right for you, as I mentioned on the phone if you are not completely satisfied with our solution, or if there is anything else I can personally do for you to make it right, please let us know!

    Mike
    Feb 18th 2015
    Great Idea, tough execution

    This product was a great concept, I ordered it for my father in law as a get well gift, something other than flowers, he received it, and got a kick out of it, too bad the "crowbar" as it is a cute novelty, does absolutely nothing to open the crate, he had my mother in law fetch him a hammer and larger pry bar of substance to get it open, it was tough for him to move around with the knee replacement and all!

    Krista Flores
    Dec 5th 2014
    size matters

    This crate was awfully small. I couldn't believe how small it was for almost $100 which included shipping. I think a more appropriate name would have been man shoebox. I was completely disappointed. Not sure if Id recommend to others. For the amount of money paid I could have created a box filled with more merchandise. Please add the dimensions of each crate in the discriptions. Very misleading.

    ------------------------------------------------
    MAN CRATES EDIT:

    Hey Krista, so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the size of the Slaughterhouse crate! Our Slaughterhouse crate packs over a pound of jerky and some other grub into a 9x9x9 inch crate! if you would like we would be happy to help make this right for you, because when you're not happy, we're not happy as well. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll see what we can work out.

    Patti
    Nov 18th 2014
    Kinda Small

    Dimensions in the description would be good. I never expected my gift to be a toy crate.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------
    Man Crates Edit:

    Sorry to hear you were disappointed in the size of the crate! Our Slaughterhouse crate has over a pound of jerky inside and is shipped in a 9 inch square crate (9"x 9"x 9"). In the future if you have any questions or concerns about the dimensions of the crate you're ordering we'll be happy to help, our number is 866-902-7260 or you can email us at guys@mancrates.com

    Chris
    Jun 17th 2019
    Not impressed. . .

    I received this crate as a Fathers Day gift. When I happened to see how much my wife paid for it, I was very disappointed. Don't get me wrong, I was very appreciative for the gift and the thought, but I can't believe you guys charge $89.99 for just over a pound of jerky. The jerky is good, but not mind-blowing! It's comparable to the Old Trapper jerky I get at the big box store down the street. 20ounces of that jerky cost me $20! I just don't see the $89.99 value for a wooden box with 20 ounces of "just okay" jerky.

    Man Crates Response: Hi there,

    Thanks for your feedback, I’m so sorry to hear you were disappointed in the crate you received. We do our best to offer a great value for the price and I’m sorry to hear we missed that mark for you!

    We offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee on all of our products, so when you're not happy, we're not happy! We'd be glad for the opportunity to work with you to make this right by offering a discount or to arrange a cost free and hassle free return pick-up at the location of your choice if you just want a full refund. Give us a call at 866-902-7260 and we'll do our best to make you happy, thanks!

    -Team Man Crates

Back to Top